866-800-6251
866 area code:
Toll-free
Read comments below about 8668006251. Report unwanted calls to help identify who is using this phone number.
- j| 1 replyClaims to be Microsoft Tollfree Helpline for computer error with driver. There is no error; so scam is a possibility.
- Caller: ?
- Cathie replies to jI have a message on my screen to call Microsoft 866-800-6251. It says don't shut down or restart my computer. If I do, I will loose data and will cause my operating system to fail. I can not get rid of the box. Any suggestions?
- olivia Lorch-JaffeThis is a scam
- Caller: microsoft 866 800 6251
- Edw| 1 replyThe Java Script Alert - urgent-computer warning.com
The error message reads:
"There is a .net frame work file missing due to some harmful virus
debug malware error 895-system 32 exe failure.
Please contact Microsoft technicians to rectify the issue.
Please do not open internet browser for your security issue to avoid data corruption on our registry of your operating system.
Tollfree Helpline at 1-866-800-6251. - steveBGot a flashing blue screen claiming to be some
awful register-related malfunction that will lead to data loss. I was warned not to turn off the machine. This claimed to be Microsoft number to "help me". The voice on the other side had an Indian/Pakistani accent, or something similar. - shirley| 3 repliesI got the same screen, long story short , they wanted $250 to fix my computer and another $ 400 for antivirus software. We even called my bank on a conference call and the bank said it was red flagged do to a potential scam and would not let them use my card,(bless the bank) at this point I said I don't' want there services and the got up set with ;me I turned off my computer and hung up the phone.
IT'S A SCAM!!!!!!!! - RH| 1 replyI got a dark blue screen early this morning and a woman's voice recording saying: Important security message: Please call the number provided as soon as possible. You will be guided for the removal of the Adware Spyware virus on your computer. Seeing these pop ups means that you have a virus installed on your computer which puts the security of your personal data at a serious risk. It's strongly advised that you call the number provided and get your computer fixed before you do any shopping online. Message on screen was: 0x000000CE DRIVER_UNLOADED_WITHOUT_CANCELLING_PENDING
_OPERATIONS
WINDOWS HEALTH IS CRITICAL
DO NOT RESTART
PLEASE CONTACT MICROSOFT TECHNICIANSS (notice 2nd S in Technicians)
BSOD : Error 333 Registry Failure of operating system – HOST :
BLUE SCREEN ERROR 0x000000CE
Please contact microsoft technicians At Toll Free : 1-866-800-6251
To Immediately Rectify issue to prevent Data Loss
I did call the phone number and allowed access to my computer with technician Shaun Tait and this was his quote after doing some diagnostics: Shaun typed this and I copied and pasted.
remove csrss.exe(trojan)
fix errors/warnings
remove junk files/folders
pc clean-up
------------------
install microsoft secuirty essential
install anti-spyware
--------------------
network secuirty
=====================
one time fix 149.99
one year support(12 months) 249.99
I already have Defender (the newer version of Security Essentials and the anti-spyware is MalwareBytes which I already have. I know how to clean-up files and remove junk files/folders. The only thing that I am not sure about is the csrss.exe (trojan). Needless to say, I was extremely upset at the price and I told him that I could buy a new computer for what he was asking.
Who knows if this is someone hacking into our computers or not. Shaun did have an Asian accent so did the call originate in the USA or elsewhere? Be careful out there. It is possible that our computers are being hacked. Since the phone number seems to be untraceable, it makes one wonder. Do I really have a virus? Not sure since MalwareBytes and Defender did not find them. However, when I downloaded new updates, MalwareBytes did find a directory error that it fixed as well as a few other things. BTW, MalwareBytes did find some items and quarantine them. Looks like they originated from http_findmefreebies.dl.tb.ask.com_0 which is not anything I searched for on the Internet.
Hope this helps anyone getting the same messages on their computers. - DaveB replies to RHThis is a scam website. There is nothing wrong with your computer. The website uses java script to trap you on the page.
- Fa| 2 repliesGot the same scary pop up and couldn't close it. Guy got defensive when I called the number and questioned his authenticity! Hung up on me when I balked at giving him "access to my computer. " got a gut feeling it was a scam. Shut down my computer and fingers crossed its ok.
- Caller: Claims to be Microsoft technician!
- Helen replies to EdwI got the same message & called it & let him, Thaddeus have assess to my PC. He was going to tune it up the 29th but I had to cancel to a later date & am just checking the tel# today. I feel so stupid but the message was so real because I was having trouble with .net framework installing.
- A little dumb replies to Fa| 1 replyI got the same thing and did call. Stupid me! I stayed on the phone with this 'tech' guy rummaging around in my computer remotely for 30minutes or more. He the. Tried to sell me their services. I got duped! Now I have hours to spend trying to secure my personal data again. Cancel credit cards, closed bank accounts, hours changing log in and pass word into. I feel so stupid. Now all I can do is pray that they didn't steal my personal info and they don't try to use any of it.
- Tamianth replies to A little dumbWith thanks to Slim--registered user here:
Since the scammers accessed the computer, they probably did one or more of the following:
• Disabled the anti-virus software
• Added nasty malware to the computer
• Copied the Contact List (so they can spam/email your soon-to-be ex-friends)
• Copied any financial data or passwords they could find
• Compromised your ID
• "Zombied" the computer, so it would respond to THEIR commands sent via internet
• Deleted some important files
• Asked for money to repair the damage they caused
What can you do immediately after such an attack?
1. Pull the cables on the computer, so it cannot access the internet.
2. Change ALL passwords stored on the computer
3. Run FULL malware scans on the computer, in "SAFE" mode!
4. Change the passwords again, particularly if the malware scans showed anything
5. Inform your bank and credit card companies
6. Sign up for credit monitoring, and check the status frequently
7. You may have to bring the computer to a local repair shop, and tell them the story.
8. Tell friends what happened, so they can be aware of strange emails from you
9. Plug in the cables only AFTER all the above have been done
10. Change the passwords on all online accounts. Even better - access a "safe", uninfected computer, and chance your online account passwords RIGHT NOW.
You fell for one scam, and might be susceptible to others mentioned on this site:
http://phonehelp.2truth.com/facts_rev.html
Read that info to educate and help protect yourself!
Honest computer companies do NOT cold-call people, or cause popups from websites to tell them their computers need fixing!
Some scammers even have websites.
Read the info at these links.
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Cold-Call-Tech ... on-150170.shtml
http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0346-tech-support-scams
Lesson:
If your computer needs fixing, bring it to a local repair shop
Remember to return here, to 800notes.com, after you look at any of the information at the above sites, either to post more information, or to let us know you avoided the scam or fixed the computer correctly. - Yo replies to shirley| 2 repliesThey were probably using an international merchant it doesn't mean it was a scam your bank mislead you. International is a safer way of processing info on infected computers and that sound like the actual price for a tune up and infection removal plus maybe a three year licensee to an endpoint software
- Ezeemy friends and I prank called this number a ton LOL they got pissed with is. The only people that answered were David, Steve, carol, Angeline and some other name. Honestly calling them on skype is funny as [***] so u should do it
- Caller: Uh idk
- tiffany replies to Yothis is 100 percent proven to be a scam! do some research!
- Alejandro replies to YoYou must be a part of the scam, thats why you are misleading people to make them think the scam is real.
Report a phone call from 866-800-6251: