888-564-6149

888 area code: Toll-free
Read comments below about 8885646149. Report unwanted calls to help identify who is using this phone number.
  • 0
    Rita Landry
    Trying to access my computer
  • 0
    Don
    I was surfing the internet and when opening a new tab my internet browser was ceased by a screen claiming to be Cox Cable saying that my information has potentially been compromised and I should call this number immediately.  I called and they answered and immediately hung up.  I assume I've given out some type of information that could damage me.  Fortunately I don't keep financial information on this computer.  Furthermore I called Cox Communications my internet provider and they said they hadn't heard of any breach like this but when I mentioned getting my computer to someone who could see if I had a virus they conveniently had a service to do the same at a very high price.  $99 initial with a $9.95 monthly.  Who knows maybe they did this.
  • 0
    Chris
    | 5 replies
    I was paying bills my internet browser was ceased by a screen claiming to be Charter cable, that my information had been compromised and I should call a this number immediately. I called, some guy answered with a foreign accent wanted to take control of my computer. He claimed to be from Microsoft technical support and that he could help fix the problem with my computer. I went to Microsoft's website to try to verify the phone number, wasted 40 minutes only to call a phone number that had a 10 min wait. Bad Billyware! Googled this number found Don's post. Taking my computer to my computer nerd for a check up. Good Google.
  • 0
    katy replies to Chris
    | 4 replies
    Hi the same just happened to me, I called the number but sounds like a scam to me, they sound very unprofessional to be from Microsoft, can you tell me what did they tell you on your computer´s check up? is it really in danger? I manage all my confidential information on this computer...
  • 0
    Badge714 replies to katy
    | 2 replies
    Very famous scam. These popup's are known as scareware. However. Some of the newer ones are getting a little more malicious. Run your up-to-date virus software & don't store important documents on your computer unless you have backup's & backup's of your OS. Would also suggest running a program like 'malwarebytes' in safe boot.
  • 0
    Iz replies to Badge714
    | 1 reply
    Hey my mom just fell for can you explain further how I can fix the problem please?
  • 0
    MJG replies to Iz
    If she paid--call the bank or credit card company & declare fraud.

    Run a virus & malware check on your unit (in safe mode).  Keep an eye on your information you had on the computer - banking & contact lists.  They may have places spyware on it.
  • 0
    chris replies to katy
    Yes. Total scam don't call the number. Calls made to toll free numbers are unblocked and the digits can be captured by the owner of the toll freephone number.. Microsoft Customer Service sucks, immediate response vs placement into a phone queue suggests your're dealing with bad boys phishing for info and not a legit Microsoft help desk. Be Careful,
  • 0
    lil Tugboat
    I bought a refurbished HP computer from Tiger Direct.  I went through the set up and installed Norton Security instantly.  When I went to my first website, the pop up appeared and said i need to call 1-888-564-6149 because of serious security threats and my IP address might be targeted.  It being a new computer and there was no information in the computer, I had Norton erase everything and then did a deep scan.  There were viruses on the computer!!  Needless to say,  everything has been updated.  I am not happy with the computer, but that story is for another website!!!
  • 0
    JD
    Pop up ad claiming to be my ISP Clear.com stating illegal takeover of my information and to call this number.  I had the same problem on another computer with claims from "Microsoft" so I knew this was bogus!
  • 0
    Sheila S.D.
    My computer suddenly came up with this while I was on the Internet:  WARNING  Dear Midco...Customer from Sioux Falls.

    Serious security threats might have been detected on 3/30/2015 @ 18:30.  Your personal photos, creditcard information and passwords might have been compromised.

    It is highly recommended you do NOT continue using your computer until you've contacted an official technician.  Your IP )*******) might be targeted right now.

    Please call this number as soon as possible.  1-888-564-6149.  An official technician will help you remove any adware/spyware on your computer."

    DO NOT CALL THIS NUMBER.  I DIDN'T. THIS WAS NOT SENT BY MY INTERNET PROVIDER.  NO VIRUS DETECTED ON COMPUTER THUS FAR.

Report a phone call from 888-564-6149:

The company that called you.